The Heart Chakra is responsible for our love, joy, happiness and compassion. It also allows us to feel sorrow, sadness, anger and lust but these are from our lower chakras. Those feelings are important to understanding ourselves so that we can overcome and move to the higher heart where pure love exists. 

Location:  Center of the chest

Represented By the Color: Green

Signs that it’s balanced

When your heart chakra is balanced you have compassion for people and creatures. You’re kind, caring, understanding and at ease with people and yourself. You understand and accept others for who they are. Nonjudgmental in nature and will wait on the right relationship versus jumping into one because of loneliness. 

Signs that it’s over active

Ruled by emotions like sadness, anger, grief, and despair with little to no control. Manipulative. Critical. Conditional love. Always giving and never receiving

Signs that it’s under active

Negative thinking. Feelings of unloved, unworthy, and unappreciated. Difficult time letting people in and keeping people at a distance. 

To Help Balance

Element: Air. Feel the wind. 


Crystals: Rose quartz, Jade, Emerald, Malachite, Green Aventurine

Meditation: See a green. Visualize a green orb of light in the location of your heart chakra. Focus on that space and breathe into that area of your body. Do this daily for 10 minutes.

Mantra: Love is the answer to everything. I am an infinite being full of Divine Love, which I give freely and openly accept from others.

Aromatherapy/Essential Oils:  Rose, Lavender, Jasmine, and Chamomile.


  • Take a 20-minute walk outside and enjoy your surroundings 
  • Eat a delicious salad
  • Do a heart chakra yoga class from Youtube
  • Forgive someone (You can do it)
  • Reconnect with an old friend and let them know what they mean to you.
  • Perform an anonymous random act of kindness
  • Watch a romantic comedy movie

OTHER CHAKRAS: Root Chakra | Sacral Chakra | Solar Plexus Chakra  |Throat ChakraThird Eye Chakra| Crown Chakra